Create Tasks in the Task Editor

How to Edit Tasks in the Task Editor

  

You’ve added tasks in the Task Editor, but now you need to make some edits, like deleting a task or marking one complete. Make all of these changes in the Task Editor. This article will show you how.

NOTE: This article assumes you can access the Task Editor and have created one or more tasks. Also, your firm may refer to these units of work as “budget items,” “phases,” “work items,” or “engagements.” It’s easy to update the lexicon settings in BigTime to accommodate your firm’s needs. We’ll use “tasks” for this article.

Navigate to the Task Editor, and then we’ll highlight the task changes and additions you can make:

  • Edit Task
  • Mark Complete
  • Add Subtask
  • Delete

Click on the single row of dots to the right of an existing task, and a picklist will populate with four options.

Here’s what you need to know about each option:

Edit Task lets you edit the task. A new window will populate where you can edit general task information, such as status and assigned staffers, as well as budgets and dates. Click save to save any changes you make.

Mark Complete does just that: your task will be “grayed out” to indicate its completed status.

Add sub-task to add a sub-task to an existing task. An indented line will populate where you can add all of your sub-task details.

Delete allows you to delete a task. However, you can’t delete a task that has transactions attached to it.

Keep in mind that you can type directly into the task textbox to make a change or enter a new number or date. Click Save to save your work. Or turn on Auto-Save.

Where to Go from Here:

Create Sub-Tasks in the Task Editor

Task Editor Hotkeys

Was This Helpful?