How-To Guide

Assigning Users to Security Groups

  

Each user in your system can belong to one or more security groups. In BigTime, you can grant access to different areas of the system to Security Groups.  Then, when you assign users to one or more groups, those users have access to the collective rights of all the groups to which they belong.

While you can take a look at the Configuration section of the BigTime Knowledgebase for information about how to edit the rights associated with your firm's Security Groups, this article will walk you through the step-by-step process for assigning security rights to an individual user.

  1. Open up your Staff List. From the main menu, click the MY COMPANY...STAFF LIST menu option. You’ll see the list of staffers who have already been added to the system.
  2. Select the staffer you'd like to adjust from the list on this page. Once you do, that staffer's detail will slide open on screen.
  3. Choose the User Rights tab along the top of the user's detail pane. You'll see a list of security groups to which this user can be assigned.
  4. Check off the groups you'd like to assign this user to, and then click the Save Changes button at the bottom of the page when you're finished.

    Remember, this user's rights list is the combination of every Security Group you assign them to. If they are already logged in to BigTime, they will need to logout and back in before their new rights take effect.

Was This Helpful?