Using Timers

Converting Timers to Timesheet Entries

  

Have BigTime convert your timers to timesheet entries. This article will explain the two ways you can convert time from your timer to your timesheet, and how to delete a timer.

Click here if you’re new to tracking time with timers.

Stop Timers

Stopping a timer is one way you can stop a timer and apply incurred time to your timesheet. BigTime will keep the timer in your list of timers so you can come back tomorrow and easily restart it—without having to add timer details.

You can stop and apply time for multiple or single timers. We’ll explain both options below.

Stop All Timers

Say you’ve used multiple timers today. Now you want to stop and apply the incurred time for all the timers you've used to your timesheet. This is when you’d choose to “Stop All Timers.” Here’s what you do:

Click on the clock icon on your navigation menu. A timer window will pop up and you’ll click Stop All on the bottom-left corner.

BigTime will prompt you with a question box, asking you if you want to stop all timers. By clicking "yes," BigTime will stop your timers and apply incurred time from all of your timers to your timesheet. It'll also keep your timers on your list of timers so you can come back to them.

Stop a Single Timer

Say you want to stop and apply incurred time from one timer to your timesheet. Here’s what you do:

Click on the clock icon on your navigation menu. A timer window will pop up and you’ll click on the timer, from your list of timers, that you want to stop. Once you’re inside that timer, click the triangle near the bottom-right corner and choose Stop from the picklist.

BigTime will prompt you with a question box, asking you if you want to stop the timer. By clicking "yes," BigTime will stop it and apply the incurred time to your timesheet. It’ll keep the timer to your list of timers so you can come back to it.

Remove Timers

Removing a timer is the second way to apply incurred time to your timesheet. BigTime will also remove the timer(s) from your list of timers. You’d choose to remove a timer when you’re done working on a project and don't need to track time toward it.

You can remove and apply time for multiple or a single timer. We’ll explain both options below.

Remove All

Click on the clock icon on your navigation menu. A timer window will pop up and you’ll click on the white triangle near bottom-left corner. Select Remove All.

BigTime will prompt you with a question box, asking you if you want to remove the timers. By clicking "yes," BigTime will add incurred time from existing timers to your timesheet and will remove them from your list of timers.

Remove a Single Timer

Say you only want to remove a single timer and apply that time to your timesheet. Here’s what you do:

Click on the clock icon on your navigation menu. A timer window will pop up and you’ll click on the timer, from your list of timers, that you want to stop. Once you’re inside that timer, click the triangle near the bottom-right corner and choose Remove from the picklist.

BigTime will prompt you with a question box, asking you if you want to remove the timer. By clicking "yes," BigTime will remove this timer from your list of timers and add incurred time to your timesheet.

Delete a Timer

Did you create a timer for the wrong client or project? Follow these steps to delete a timer:

Click the clock icon on your navigation bar and click on the timer you want to delete. Once you’re inside the timer, click Delete on the bottom-left corner of the timer window.

Note: If you delete a timer, BigTime doesn’t apply your incurred time to your timesheet.

TIP: Add details to your timers

Add project or task-related information for each timer you start. Timer details are needed when BigTime transfers your timers to your timesheet.


 Where to Go From Here:

Create Timers

How to Change Time Zones

Was This Helpful?