Remove a Project from BigTime

Deleting/Deactivating A Project

  

What’s it mean to deactivate a project? And what’s the difference between deactivating a project and deleting it? This article will answer these questions: you’ll learn how to deactivate and reactivate a project, and how to delete a project.

NOTE: Only Premier users can deactivate projects.

First, we’ll explain what deactivate and delete mean in BigTime. Then, we’ll show you where to find and how to use each option: deactivate, reactivate, and delete a project.

Deactivating a project means changes the project status from active to inactive on your Project Dashboard. As a result:

  • The project is removed from your Project List. But the data, like time and billing history, are saved.
  • You can’t enter and edit allocations for that project.
  • If the project is still on the timesheet, then time can continue to be added unless a due date is established for that project.

It’s easy to reactivate a deactivated project.

Deleting a project is a permanent action. It means the project and associated data are permanently removed from BigTime. However, BigTime won’t allow you to delete a project that has transactions associated with it, without first removing the transactions.

Deactivate a Project

Follow the steps below to deactivate a project.

  1. Click My Company...Project List from your navigation bar.

  2. Select a project from your Project List.


    By default, you’ll be directed to the Project tab on your Project Dashboard. This is where you’ll need to be to deactivate the project.
  3. Find the white triangle next to the Delete Project option toward the end of the window.

  4. Select Deactivate Project from the picklist that populates.

  5. Add deactivation details to the new window that populates. Here you can set the inactive status and enter the deactivation date. We’ll explain these options below.


    Set the inactive status for this project (waiting for next billing cycle, on hold, canceled, completed) by selecting an option from the picklist under the Status header.

    Select the deactivation date. Click into the date box and select a date from the calendar to deactivate your project. Keep in mind that deactivating a project prevents users from entering and editing allocations for this project. Allocations that are passed that selected date will not show up on allocation reports or the utilization dashboard.

  6. Click Deactivate to deactivate your project, and you’ll get a notice that you deactivated your project.

Reactivate a Deactivated Project

Reactivating a project is simple and involves a similar process to the one detailed above. We'll explain each step next.

  1. Click My Company...Project List from your navigation bar.

  2. Check the box next to the phrase Include Inactive/completed projects. Remember that deactivated projects are inactive, so they won’t automatically show up in your Project List.

  3. Click on the project that you want to reactivate.

  4. Find the white triangle next to the Delete Project option toward the end of this window. A picklist will populate and you’ll want to select Reactivate Project.

  5. A small window will pop up asking if you’re sure that you want to reactivate the project. Click Yes to reactivate it.

Deleting a Project

If you want to delete a project, then follow the steps below.

  1. Click My Company...Project List.

  2. Select a project that you want to delete. This will take you to your Project Dashboard for that project.

  3. Go to the bottom of your Project Dashboard, and click Delete Project.

  4. Click Yes, when a question box pops up and asks you if you want to delete the project.

Where to Go from Here:

Merging Duplicate Project Data

Your Utilization Dashboard

 

Was This Helpful?
  

Further Reading

Need more details? Once you understand the basics, the articles below will take you a little deeper.