Remove a Project from BigTime
Print this Article
Email this Article
There are three ways to remove a project from your project list:
- Delete it,
- Deactivate it, or
- Merge it with another project.
This overview article will describe all three options and provide scenarios for using them. We’ll also direct you to specific articles that explain each option step-by-step.
Deleting a project is a permanent action. The project and data—time and billing history—associated with the project are removed from BigTime forever.
Deactivating a project removes the project from your project list in BigTime, but the data—time and billing history—are saved. Plus, a deactivated project can be re-activated in the future.
Merging one project with another is an option when you’ve got duplicate projects in BigTime.
Delete a Project
It’s rare to delete a project. It’s a permanent action that removes the project and the project’s data from BigTime. However, if you want to delete a project, you’re able to do so in BigTime. Refer to this article to learn how.
This is a scenario when you may delete a project: you think you’ll land a contract with Company A, and prematurely enter details about the project. But the contract falls through, so you decide to delete the project. Alternatively, you could deactivate, which is the option we explain below, since the deal may work out in the future.
NOTE: BigTime won't allow you to delete a project that has transactions associated with it. If you try to delete it, BigTime will ask if you are sure you want to delete. When you click “yes,” it’ll give you an error that lists the number of transactions you have on the project.
Deactivate a Project
Most BigTime users deactivate a project when they want a project removed from their project list. This is the safer option that involves changing a project’s status from “active” to “inactive.” This is what happens when you make this change:
- The project is removed from your project list,
- The time and billing history associated with the de-activated project are saved, and
- The project can be re-activated in the future, if need be.
In short, de-activating a project gives you flexibility in the future. Refer to this article to learn how to deactivate a project.
BigTime users to deactivate projects when a project is complete or on hold. It’s an easy way to keep the project list clear and filled only with active projects.
Merge One Project with Another
Say you accidentally created two projects for the same client. Or you started Project A and Project B is very similar. Merging one project with another is an option when these situations occur.
Refer to this article to learn how to merge projects.
The above options are all ways to remove clutter from your project list, depending on your specific situation.
Need more details? Once you understand the basics, the articles below will take you a little deeper.