QuickBooks Integration 101

Get to Know Your QuickBooks Integration Options

  

Are you ready to integrate BigTime with QuickBooks? This article will explain your options when you’re ready to integrate with either version QuickBooks Online or Desktop.

First, navigate to QuickBooks Integration in BigTime (My Company...Integrations), and select QuickBooks Desktop. Then, select Manage, as shown in the image below. Or select the QuickBooks tile if you’ve integrated with QuickBooks Online.

A new window will pop up with three tabs: General, Time/Expense, and Invoicing. Use this window to indicate your Quickbooks to BigTime integration settings. You’ll decide what type of information you want to export to QuickBooks, for example, and whether or not you want automatic updates to occur.

We’ll go through the three tabs available on this window and the options available on each. Since you’ll default to the General tab, we’ll start there.

Tab1: General

We’ll start at the top of this window and work our way down.

As you can see in the image below, you have three options available:

  • Use job(s) in QuickBooks. Typically, every BigTime project has a corresponding “job” in QuickBooks. Check the box next to this option if you use “jobs” in QuickBooks, otherwise leave it unchecked.
  • Enable updates. Uncheck this box if you want to import QuickBooks data, but do not want BigTime to automatically update customers and jobs.
  • Class integration. This function is for submitting and posting time and expenses. You can set a “default class” on a project, task or for a staffer. A default is helpful to prevent relying on your staff to make the selection when they enter time and expenses. It also gives the administrator control over which class is being applied to those entries.

    For example, if you’re setting a default class on each project, you’d select Use the Project default, as shown in the image below. That means any time and expenses entered toward a project would use the project’s default class.

Now we’ll discuss the options available under Field Mappings, located near the bottom of the General tab.

Import/Export Customer/Job Data. This first option under Field Mappings is where you decide how you’re going to sync your BigTime data with QuickBooks. Here’s a little more information about your options:

Do not create jobs automatically in BigTime means you don’t want jobs from QuickBooks added to BigTime.

Import jobs (no updates) means you want to import new jobs from QuickBooks to BigTime, but any updates you make on those jobs in QuickBooks won’t update in BigTime. Here’s an example: I create a new job in QuickBooks and “sync” the data, which creates the job in BigTime. Then, I change the job name in QuickBooks. The job name won’t change in BigTime when I “sync” the data if I have this setting selected.

Import all QuickBooks updates (1-way) and Sync updates to QuickBooks (2-way) are two settings that work in a similar way. Both settings sync and update various changes made in QuickBooks. And both settings allow you to push data, like posted invoices, from BigTime to Quickbooks using a manual process.

BigTime Project Name Source. This is the format for how you want your project names to export to QuickBooks. For example, we created a project called "Project ABC" and its Project ID is 0025.

This is how it would export to QB for each setting:

PrjNm = Project ABC

PrjID = 0025

PrjId - PrjNM = 0025 - Project ABC

Billing Address Sync Option. Your billing contact information and addresses will get updated. Only client addresses and information comes over on the initial push and needs to be updated in both locations after the initial sync. However, if the contact is seen as the “billing contact” in BigTime, then a change to the contact in QuickBooks will update the billing contact in BigTime.

Once you’ve made your changes and updates, click Save.

Tab 2: Time/Expense

The middle tab, Time/Expense, is where you select your time and expense options. We’ll go through each one below:

Post Notes. BigTime automatically adds time and expense notes to QuickBooks. However, you can turn this default “off” by unchecking the box next to “Post Notes.”

Post QuickBooks Class Value. If a time or expense entry is linked to a staffer, project, or task and it has a “default” class, then that information is posted to QuickBooks automatically. However, you can turn this default “off” by unchecking the box next to this option.

Post as “billed.” Check the box next to “Post as ‘billed’” if you invoice out of BigTime and want billed timesheet and expense data to post to QuickBooks. In other words, when you post time and expenses, they’ll be marked as “billed” in QuickBooks.

Post Gross Billable Accounts. Use this option if you’re invoicing from BigTime and passing through expenses to your customers. It’ll avoid having pass-through taxes hit your tax filings. BigTime will post the gross amount as payable and mark that item as exempt.

Post Expenses using the "Submission Date.” Check this box if you’d like BigTime to use the "submission date" instead of the "post date" when posting expenses to QuickBooks.

Export Only Approved Time/Expenses. Choose to only post approved time and expenses to QuickBooks by checking the box next to this option.

Default Accounts. BigTime will automatically post expense reports to the accounts shown beneath this option. If you have multiple accounts, then click on the red triangle to make your account(s) selection.

Remember to click Save to save the changes you made.

Tab 3: Invoicing

Now let’s review the options available on the third tab, Invoicing.

Import QuickBooks Payments. Import and view Quickbooks payments in BigTime.

Post as TO BE PRINTED. If you want to print all invoices that are exported to QuickBooks, then check the box next to this option.

Post as TO BE EMAILED. If you want to email all invoices that are exported to QuickBooks, then check the box next to this option.

Use BigTime’s Billing Address. This function is used if you have a different billing address for the “customer” or “job” in BigTime. If the box is unchecked, BigTime will use the billing address in QuickBooks for that “job.” If it’s checked, BigTime will use the billing address selected as the “billing contact” on the BigTime “job.”

Default Accounts: BigTime will automatically post invoices to the accounts shown below. That way, line items without a link will default to the service item you chose as a default.

Default Service: This option is for posting invoices. When you're posting an invoice, you select the service item you want those line items to post to in QuickBooks. If you have a line item on your invoice that is not linked, then BigTime will use the default service item you select here.

Remember to click Save to save the changes you made.

Where to Go from Here:

Invoicing by Task

Creating an Invoicing User Group

Was This Helpful?